L.B. Simmons

Hold on tight…life is definitely a thrill ride…

400 Like Teaser

Leave a comment

“Alright, I’ll make you a deal. Blake can stay for one movie. Then I’ll decide if I need his help through the night. Okay? I’m not making any promises. And I don’t want any pouty, grumpy faces if I decide he needs to go home. Got it?”

“Yes, ma’am!” They all shout at the same time, each with huge grins on their faces.

I snap my head back to Blake who’s also grinning, but his smile is more triumphant.

I lean over and whisper, “Look buddy, you need to wipe that smug smile off your face. No promises have been made, so there’s absolutely no reason for you to be smiling like that. You’re lucky to get to stay for a movie. And for the record, I hope they choose something that will be extremely painful for you to watch. You deserve it.”

Speaking of which…

I excitedly turn back to face the girls. “Alright, go pick a movie! Oh, didn’t we just get that new Barney movie? I really think Blake would love that one! You should put it on for him!” I direct my eyes over to Blake and shoot him the best, smart-ass grin I can conjure up.

Blake simply glances at me and then turns his attention back to the girls. He trumps my enthusiasm with an astounding, “The purple dinosaur? I love that one! Do you guys really have a whole movie? I can’t wait! Go get it and let’s watch it!” He then looks back at me, giving me his own smart-ass grin.

Jerk.

Author: L.B. Simmons

Bestselling author of The Mending Hearts Series (Running on Empty, Recovery, Running in Place), and The Resurrection of Aubrey Miller. Upcoming novel, Under the Influence to be released in May 2015.

Leave a Reply

