L.B. Simmons

Hold on tight…life is definitely a thrill ride…

Running on Empty – How and Why

3 Comments

I wanted to post a little something for my future readers regarding the how and why Running on Empty came to fruitition.

Running on Empty.  Wow.  Where do I even begin?

I am a mother of three adorable little girls.  This is where it really started.  I have so many ridiculous stories about these children.  They make me laugh continuously.  Never a dull moment.  I am constantly telling stories about them and laughing.  It was suggested to me that I should write them down.  So I did.  And when I did, I found myself writing a beautiful love story.

Running on Empty is not a true story, but more of a story of what I would like to see happen to someone who had children and suddenly found themselves in a position of being a single mother.  It’s really what I would like to see happen for that person who experienced so much heartache and devastation.

The situations that Alex finds herself in as a result of her children, yeah, they happened to me.  First scene of the book, happened to me. Almost everything in the first chapter happened to me.  Actually, pretty much everything in the book that revolves around the children is true.  Whether it be their personalities, their actions, the conversations…all true.  I love my girls more than anything.  And I really wanted them to have a piece of their childhood to remember.  So I wrote the book really for them and I figure if I have readers that enjoy the story, then that’s just a big cherry on top of everything else.

Another thing that I hold very dear to my heart is friendship.  I love my friends.  All of them.  Enter Harlow.  Harlow is Alex’s best friend.  She is hilarious and outspoken.  But there is a very tender aspect to Harlow.  She is Alex’s rock.  Always looking out for her.  And I love that.  I really believe that you should hold your friends very close to your heart, because true friends will get you through the darkest parts of your life, and probably make you smile in the process.  That is the very definition of Harlow…and I can’t wait for you to meet her.

Blake…Oooooooh my Blake.  Blake has tough exterior.  But he also has a very sweet side. His interactions with Alex’s girls…well, they will make your heart melt.  I love him. A little too much probably…especially if you ask my husband.  😉  He was Alex’s best friend growing up.  And I love their chemistry. I hope you do as well.

Alex.  Wow.  There is so much in Alex’s character that is me.  That is probably why I love her so much. LOL! She is tough. I mean, she’s a single mother of three little girls, she has to be.  And her heartache causes her to safeguard herself.  Maybe a little too much for her own good.  But I think a lot of people will relate to her…or I hope so. She is definitely the type to over think things.  And that is very evident in the book. A lot of hilarious inner monologue.

As I said earlier, I started to write this book for my babies.  But as it developed, it completely took over my thoughts and I became slightly obessed with the story.  I would be “listening” to someone talking to me…but not really…because the whole time I would be thinking…how is this conversation between Blake and Alex going to happen?  How is such and such going to lead to this part?  It was ridiculous!!!! It literally took over my brain from the moment I started writing until I finished the last chapter.

I get it now. I get what it means when writers say that there is just a something in their soul that needs to get out.  I understand that now.  And my soul spilled ALL over into this story.

I really hope that you enjoy Running on Empty when you read it.  I hope that you can relate to the characters.  To all of the aspects of the story.  Love.  Friendship. Motherhood. Sadness. Fears. Happiness.  They’re all there.  And I hope, as you read, it touches your heart the way it touched mine when I wrote it.

Thank  you all for your support and belief in my book.  I LOVE these characters.  I would make them real people if I could just to hang out with them.  Especially Blake.  LOL!

Well…that’s it for now.  I hope you guys all stay tuned for the release. Remember…January 9, 2013 is the big day.  I have the cover.  Writing blurb this weekend for the back and then I can reveal.  🙂

❤ you all and thank you so much for taking chance on an indie author.  I hope to do you proud.

Author: L.B. Simmons

Bestselling author of The Mending Hearts Series (Running on Empty, Recovery, Running in Place), and The Resurrection of Aubrey Miller. Upcoming novel, Under the Influence to be released in May 2015.

3 thoughts on “Running on Empty – How and Why

  1. Thanks for sharing. This book is gonna be awesome…. Kids can be funny, so I already see myself cracking up with their antics….

  2. Love this book already! Can’t wait!!!
    So proud of you – – your dear husband & precious girls! LUV U ALL!

  3. This sounds like a story that most mother’s can relate to!! Can’t wait to read!!

Leave a Reply

