L.B. Simmons

Hold on tight…life is definitely a thrill ride…

Butterflies

6 Comments

Wow!  Let me just start of with what an AMA-ZING week this has been. I never dreamt it possible to have had the response to Running on Empty that I have received.  The feedback has been…well, overwhelming.  Just a couple of months ago, I started this journey, not even sure if I would even publish.  I wanted to give my daughters something to have always, and as I kept writing, it turned into a beautiful love story.  A story that seems to have resonated with a lot of people out there, and I am so happy about that.  I always said, I don’t care about the reviews.  I just want all of those people who have supported me from the very beginning, hoping to get something out of this story, to get what they need from it.  And in my heart, I feel I have accomplished that goal.  So thank you from the bottom of my heart, for not only taking the time to read the book, but also leave your kind feedback with me.  I love hearing your favorite parts and your favorite quotes.  Absolutely love it.  So thank you for allowing me to share in your experience when reading. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Now, I wanted to give you all a little insight about the use of the butterfly in my story.  I was extremely close with my Great Grandmother…Lucy Bell Simmons.  (Familiar?) She was an incredibly strong woman, who lost her husband at a relatively young age.  Strong, independent, hard-headed, stubborn…but I loved that woman with all my being. She died when I was eighteen years old.  Ever since she passed, ANY time I would see a butterfly, I couldn’t help but think of her.  Every single time. I would always think that she was just fluttering through…checking on me and making sure all was well.  To this day, I still think of her when I see one.  Which is why I chose to include a butterfly in my story.  The beautiful butterfly.

One day, when finishing my edits outside…I walked away from my computer to help my neighbor.  When I came back, there it was on my keyboard.  And I just smiled. Because I knew at that moment, she was proud of me and she approved of my book.  And for those who might not believe me…

photo

So right then…I decided to add a butterfly to my cover. It’s very small, but I think it’s perfect…

1-16-2013 8-13-00 PM

I hope you all like the new cover. And I am excited to share it with you. My readers. I hope that you all enjoyed the book. Please feel free to contact me anytime…with questions, with thoughts, anything. I owe you all everything…and I want to always be there for you! Again, thank you for sharing in this journey with me. You all mean more to me than you could ever imagine.

Author: L.B. Simmons

Bestselling author of The Mending Hearts Series (Running on Empty, Recovery, Running in Place), and The Resurrection of Aubrey Miller. Upcoming novel, Under the Influence to be released in May 2015.

6 thoughts on “Butterflies

  1. Okay…goose bumps! I have a very close aunt whose highschool sweetheart passed with cancer in the 90’s. It was around the time of her birthday and she told him to promise to keep their “date”, which they always had on her birthday. He passed a few days before, sadly. BUT…on the evening of her birthday, she was lying in bed and heard a wind chime in her bedroom ring (no wind). She said she felt his presence for abt 45 mins and then the chimes rang again and it was gone. She swears it was him keeping his promise…I believed your butterfly story from your book! I’ve heard of things like this happening to many people. Love your keyboard butterfly! Made me smile 🙂

  2. First of all i can relate with you about the butterfly and your grandmother, in my case it was my grandfather who died two years ago (i’m 19 now) and everytime someone is making for breakfast “huacho sausage” (I’m from Peru :D) i remember him.

    I have to admit i’m a new fan, i saw your book in the blog tour and loved the cover! 😀
    Haven’t read it yet but i can’t wait to. =D

    Greetings from Peru!

  3. Beautiful post! You know my thoughts about the book, and now that I know the meanings behind the butterfly, I love it even more!

  4. i hope therell be more books from you in the future, loveddddd blake and alex 🙂 butterflies have significance in chinese culture different colors mean different things, and usually it means a loved one who has passed is visiting or trying to remind thats whateve been taught.

  5. This was very beautiful – and I KNOW she’s SO very proud of
    you as all your family & friends are. You are aVERY special
    lady indeed & I know she’s looking down & smiling
    on you & your precious family. Much love – – infinity love
    – – I like that!! G’ma Suzie
    ________________________________

  6. Your great grandmother was indeed a special person and I can just see her flying around checking on you. Wonderful. I plan on reading your book. Congratulations on your achievement. I have heard about you from your grandmother since you were small and I know how proud of you. she is.

    God Bless you,

    Pat Haltom

Leave a Reply

